St John’s King William’s Town, was founded in 1864 and was aligned with the Hannover Consistory. The congregation has a rich heritage of German Settler and German-English Legion connections, with a colourful history reflecting the events of time and change that happened over the 153 years of being in King William’s Town, traditionally first a German speaking congregation, today and English speaking congregation.
The church building and the hall are beacons of light for the community and reflect in the architecture the beauty and the solid foundations of the Church of Christ on earth. The congregation of St John’s King William’s Town has the mission of being church for the people of the community, sharing the message of God’s grace in a town that is changing rapidly. The combined service celebrating 500 years of Reformation for the Eastern Cape Circuit was held in St John’s on 29 October 2017.
This was an epoch-making event with the Moravian Church, ELCSA and the Dutch Reformed Church celebrating together for the first time in history. The sermon was conducted by the Bishop of the Cape Church, Bishop Gilbert Filter. The congregational committee and the members wish to see St John’s as home to all those who seek to find a spiritual home where they can worship.